Athletes to hit the tracks for the Cross Triathlon World Championships

By Courtney Akrigg | 29 Apr, 2019

Cross triathlon is an off-road triathlon discipline that typically features a 1km swim, 20-30km mountain bike and 6-10km off-road run. After four years of Continental Championships, the International Triathlon Union (ITU) held its first Cross Triathlon World Championship in April 2011 in Extremadura, Spain, at the ‘Ring’ complex. Since then, world champions have included Bermuda’s Flora Duffy and Mexico’s Francisco Serrano, who won the title at the opening World Multisport Championships event in Penticton, Canada in 2017.
2018, Ruben Ruzafa of Spain and Britain’s Lesley Paterson were crowned World Champions in Denmark.

2019 ITU Cross Triathlon World Championships
will be staged in Pontevedra, Spain. Streaming live on the new-look TriathlonLIVE platform.
Junior race start 13.30 (local time)
Paratriathlon race start 13.40 (local time)
Elite | U23 race start 15.30 (local time)
Age-group race start 15:45 (local time)

Spain’s Ruben Ruzafa headlines the elite men’s field:
“The water is going to be so cool so we might get out of the water a little blocked. So on the bike we are all going to suffer to maintain a good speed and rhythm because is too flat and with 1km and a half of cross is going to be so fast. That is going to help the people that comes from ITU racing, that are faster. So it is going to be a race that is not going to be solved until the last moment.”

Australia’s Leela Hancox is a top contender in the elite women’s field:
“The key part for this race is the bike, my most favourite leg. I think the swim will be a little fresh coming from Australia. The bike course is beautiful, it’s got some technical parts and some climbing but nothing too crazy. It will be a fast bike. That will be my strongest leg and I plan to do well in that. If I can do well in that and hold everyone off in the run, I should be able to finish in a good position.”

View the course maps online.

Review the elite men’s start list

Review the elite women’s start list

Review all category start lists

Photo credit: Wagner Araujo

Related Event: 2019 Pontevedra ITU Cross Triathlon World Championships
30 Apr, 2019 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. Arthur Forissier FRA 01:48:21
2. Ruben Ruzafa ESP 01:48:54
3. Lukas Kocar CZE 01:49:05
4. Josiah Middaugh USA 01:49:24
5. Brice Daubord FRA 01:50:52
6. Arthur Serrieres FRA 01:50:57
7. Tim Van Hemel BEL 01:51:40
8. Kevin Tarek Viñuela Gonzalez ESP 01:52:01
9. Francisco Serrano Plowell MEX 01:52:05
10. Filippo Rinaldi ITA 01:52:18
Results: Elite Women
1. Eleonora Peroncini ITA 02:10:17
2. Jacqueline Slack GBR 02:11:20
3. Nicole Walters GBR 02:12:14
4. Loanne Duvoisin SUI 02:12:30
5. Lesley Paterson GBR 02:13:38
6. Adriana Fabiola Corona MEX 02:13:46
7. Sofiya Pryyma UKR 02:13:54
8. Helena Karásková CZE 02:14:32
9. Ladina Buss SUI 02:14:49
10. Marta Menditto ITA 02:15:12
Results: U23 Men
1. Maxim Chane FRA 01:55:58
2. Ruan Van Zyl RSA 01:56:35
3. Victor Goené NED 01:56:52
4. Mathurin Boutte FRA 01:57:33
5. Lucas Van Deynze BEL 01:57:57
6. Will Crudgington GBR 01:58:29
7. Corentin Duclos FRA 01:59:35
8. Michael Ferreira RSA 01:59:35
9. Adriaan Myburgh RSA 02:00:53
10. Cameron MacNair RSA 02:01:58
Results: U23 Women
1. Loanne Duvoisin SUI 02:12:30
2. Sofiya Pryyma UKR 02:13:54
3. Marta Menditto ITA 02:15:12
4. Matilde Bolzan ITA 02:15:46
5. Hayley Preen RSA 02:17:59
6. Penny Slater AUS 02:19:32
7. Marina Muñoz Hernando ESP 02:20:41
8. Pauline Vie POR 02:21:29
9. Megan Mcdonald GBR 02:22:17
10. Anna Vallverdú Cortada ESP 02:22:45
Results: Junior Men
1. Oscar Gladney Rundqvist DEN 00:58:05
2. Jose Ignacio Galvez Ponce ESP 00:58:35
3. Manuel Menéndez Valledor ESP 00:58:55
4. Ander Ganzabal Bilbao ESP 00:59:26
5. Timo Spitzhorn GER 01:00:04
6. Lorenzo Spagnolo ITA 01:00:51
7. Filippo Pradella ITA 01:01:40
8. Caleb Van Der Veen RSA 01:02:29
9. Khan Nothnagel RSA 01:02:51
10. Lucas Goene NED 01:02:53
Results: Junior Women
1. Willemijn Fuite NED 01:12:24
2. Zoe Davison AUS 01:13:25
3. Beatriz Medrano Serrano ESP 01:15:00
4. Jasmine Eden Gray AUS 01:16:15
5. Daria Berezhna UKR 01:19:32
6. Lucia Melgar García ESP 01:21:29
7. Josette Njeri KEN 01:46:11
Latest Regional News
more news →