Eilat Victories for Sapunova and Rouault

By Peter Holmes | 23 Nov, 2009

European under 23 champion Yuliya Sapunova forced Denmark’s Helle Frederiksen into the runner’s up spot for her third race in succession following a blistering run leg at the Eilat ITU Premium European Cup in Israel.

The young Ukrainian, who is part of the ITU Sport Development Programme, put together a textbook race as she exited the water towards the front before combining with Frederiksen to break away on the bike as they put three minutes into the opposition which included Rachel Klamer, the Dutch winner of the previous Premium European Cup in Alanya. Frederiksen’s compatriot Line Jensen managed to lead out of the swim and time trialed solo on the bike to take a lead onto the run, however couldn’t hold off the charging pair behind her.

Sapunova was able to get the better of her Danish counterpart in the closing stages to take the win by 13 seconds with Jensen holding off the chasers for third.

In the men’s race Gregory Rouault from France left it until the run to make his winning move as the entire field came together after the swim into one large cycle pack.

Having put time into the other men Rouault was able to savour his victory whilst Ran Alterman provided an exciting finish for the home support as he took third in a sprint finish with Youri Severin from the Netherlands who was second.

Related Event: 2009 Eilat ITU Triathlon Premium European Cup
21 Nov, 2009 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Women
1. Yuliya Yelistratova UKR 02:08:36
2. Helle Frederiksen DEN 02:08:47
3. Line Jensen DEN 02:10:13
4. Maria Czesnik POL 02:12:22
5. Rachel Klamer NED 02:13:25
6. Olga Dmitrieva RUS 02:14:42
7. Sarissa De Vries NED 02:15:23
8. Michelle Vesterby DEN 02:16:02
9. Zsófia Kovács HUN 02:17:30
10. Deniz Dimaki GRE 02:18:30
Results: Elite Men
1. Grégory Rouault USA 01:56:57
2. Youri Severin NED 01:57:25
3. Ran Alterman ISR 01:57:26
4. Danylo Sapunov UKR 01:58:09
5. Dan Alterman ISR 01:58:41
6. Csaba Rendes HUN 01:59:08
7. Lesly Derks NED 02:00:13
8. Marek Jaskolka POL 02:00:36
9. Tom Vanderhoogerstraete BEL 02:01:00
10. Jhonathan Malka ISR 02:04:13
Latest Regional News
more news →