Jeanne Lehair and David Castro crowned Champions of Europe in Madrid

By | 05 Jun, 2023

It was another huge day of racing in Madrid on Sunday as the men’s and women’s European Championships took to the Spanish capital, where Luxembourg’s Jeanne Lehair and local favourite David Castro Fajardo took the golds.

With the format switched to duathlon due to water quality issues following heavy rain in the city, it was a different looking challenge facing the athletes, a rapid 5km run transitioning to 40km bike and closing with a 10km run to the titles in Casa de Campo park.

Lehair raising the stakes once more

The women were out first in Madrid, Germany’s Lisa Tertsch setting the early pace with Miriam Casillas Garcia (ESP) and Lehair for close company, but the top 20 all swarmed into transition together and out for the 40km bike. That front pack then lost athletes off the back with each passing lap of the tough and technical bike, so only seven were left after an hour in the saddle.

Cathia Schar (SUI) led the group out onto the second run segment as Audrey Merle (FRA) and Petra Kurikova (CZE) dropped back, but it wouldn’t be long before Tertsch and Lehair took the race on out front and pulled clear, only the Swiss staying within reach. That was how it looked for the vast majority of the 10km before Lehair kicked with the blue carpet in sight and the German former U23 European champion could not respond, crossing for silver 10 seconds ahead of Schar.


Castro kick leaves Brownlee adrift

It was Spain’s David Cantero Del Campo and Mario Mola throwing down the gauntlet immediately in the men’s race in a bid to stretch things early on, and a front group of 10 soon formed with 15 seconds of daylight behind. Jonathan Brownlee and Emil Holm (DEN) were there too, Castro and Csongor Lehmann (HUN) spearheading the pack hunting the leaders.

The front group boiled down to seven as Brownlee and Adrien Briffod (SUI) pushed the bike pace, and the front pack enjoyed a 25-second margin over the marauding Jonas Schomburg (GER) and Lehmann heading onto the 10km shootout for the medals. Castro was further back still, but quickly set about picking off those ahead of him until he was tucked in behind Brownlee and Briffod. Next to drop was the Swiss, and it was the Brit and Spaniard locked in battle for the remainder of the race until one decisive final surge saw Castro clear to the gold, Brownlee with silver, Briffod the bronze.

For the full results, click here.

Related Event: 2023 Europe Triathlon Championships Madrid
02 - Jun, 2023 • event pageall results
Results: Elite Men
1. David Castro Fajardo ESP 01:48:13
2. Jonathan Brownlee GBR 01:48:17
3. Adrien Briffod SUI 01:48:27
4. Arnaud Mengal BEL 01:49:05
5. Emil Holm DEN 01:49:09
6. Csongor Lehmann HUN 01:49:17
7. David Cantero Del Campo ESP 01:49:30
8. Jonas Schomburg GER 01:49:41
9. Eric Diener GER 01:49:48
10. Noah Servais BEL 01:49:55
Results: Elite Women
1. Jeanne Lehair LUX 01:59:52
2. Lisa Tertsch GER 01:59:59
3. Cathia Schär SUI 02:00:10
4. Tanja Neubert GER 02:00:34
5. Miriam Casillas García ESP 02:00:53
6. Petra Kurikova CZE 02:01:18
7. Audrey Merle FRA 02:01:32
8. Kate Waugh GBR 02:02:06
9. Maria Tomé POR 02:03:05
10. Claire Michel BEL 02:03:17
Results: PTWC Men
1. Jetze Plat H2 NED 00:55:29
2. Florian Brungraber H2 AUT 01:00:27
3. Geert Schipper H2 NED 01:00:39
4. Louis Noel H2 FRA 01:05:03
5. Giovanni Achenza H1 ITA 01:06:20
6. Jose Cristobal Ramos Jimenez H1 ESP 01:10:41
DNS. Joshua Landmann H2 GBR DNS
Results: PTS2 Men
1. Maurits Morsink NED 01:03:34
2. Jules Ribstein FRA 01:07:35
3. Gianluca Valori ITA 01:08:10
4. Lionel Morales ESP 01:11:54
5. Louis Rolfe GBR 01:12:38
Results: PTS3 Men
1. Daniel Molina ESP 01:07:49
2. Nico Van Der Burgt NED 01:08:44
3. Max Gelhaar GER 01:08:52
4. Cedric Denuziere FRA 01:09:58
5. Kini Carrasco ESP 01:14:12
6. Ibrahim Al Hussein TRI 01:22:44
7. Sebastian Jansson Berg SWE 01:25:22
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Alexis Hanquinquant FRA 00:56:54
2. Nil Riudavets Victory ESP 00:58:00
3. Pierre-Antoine Baele FRA 00:58:53
4. Antonio Franko CRO 01:00:33
5. Gregoire Berthon FRA 01:01:25
6. Alejandro Sánchez Palomero ESP 01:01:40
7. Finley Jakes GBR 01:01:58
8. Oliver Dreier AUT 01:07:17